J&K Govt Staring At Bureaucratic Vacuum

Civil Secretariat Srinagar | File Photo

36 JKAS Officers Set To Retire In 2022

Srinagar: Jammu and Kashmir is staring at a huge bureaucratic vacuum as 36 Jammu and Kashmir Administrative Service (JKAS) officers are set to retire next year, adding more problems to the Union Territory administration facing shortage of officers.

According to official documents, 21 of the 36 JKAS officers will retire by the end of the months of January, March and April 2022, creating a huge vacuum in the administration.

Among the officers who will attain superannuation on January 31 include, Muzaffar Ahmad Peer, Additional District Development Commissioner, Ganderbal, Mohammad Yousuf Mir, Additional District Development Commissioner, Shopian, Mohammad Yousuf Malik, Project Manager, Integrated water-shed management programme, Samba, Shabir-ul-Hassan, Assistant Commissioner, Revenue Budgam, Sat Paul Bavouria,  Additional Secretary, Civil Aviation Department, Mohammad Ashraf Dhobi, Joint Registrar Cooperative Societies (Special), Kashmir and Rafiq Ahmad Lone, Assistant Commissioner-Revenue, Baramulla.

By the February end next year, three more officers —Farooq Ahmad Shah, Secretary Housing and Urban Development Department, Ashok Kumar Dogra, Additional Secretary, Cooperative Department and Shashi Bala, Deputy District Election Officer, Poonch.

In March 2022, Anu Radha Rani, Member J&K Special Tribunal, Jammu, Angrez Singh Rana, Managing Director, J&K Road Transport Corporation, Mohammad Yaqub Malik, Deputy Secretary, Home Department, Pritam Lal Atri, Member J&K Services Selection Board, Bashir Ahmad Lone, Vice-Chairman, Srinagar Development Authority, DC Bhatti, Chief Executive Officer, Tourism Development Authority, Lakhanpur-Sarthal and Mohammad Assadullah Rather, General Manager DIC, Baramulla will retire.

Seven more officers will retire in the following month. The officers include Mohammad Akbar Bhat, Deputy Director, Food civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs, Amreet Singh, Deputy Labour Commissioner (Central), Javaid Ahmad Reshi, Deputy Secretary, Department of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj, Tilak Raj Sharma, Additional District Development Commissioner, Samba,

Gazanfar Ali, Director, Youth Services and Sports, J&K, Abdul Majeed Lone, Joint Director Handicrafts, Kashmir and Zubair Hussain Shah, Joint Director Education, Poonch.

In May 2022, three more officers —Showkat Aijaz Bhat, Commissioner State Taxes, J&K, Babu Ram, Additional Secretary, Labour and Employment Department and Gul Hassan Kraipak, Deputy Director Information, Jammu will retire.

In July and August, three more officers, including Attar Chand, Programme Officer, ICDS Project, Udhampur, Mohammad Saleem, Managing Director, J&K SC, ST and OBC Development Corporation and Tsering Mutup, Additional Deputy Commissioner, Kargil will attain superannuation.

Next to retire from the services in September are Subhash Chander, Deputy Secretary, Animal/Sheep Husbandry and Fisheries Department and Amar Jyoti Raina, Deputy Director Tourism Jammu. In October2022, Surender Lal Bhagat, Sub –Registrar, Jammu (South) will retire.

By the end of next year, the administration will bid adieu to three more officers, including Inam-ul-Haq Siddiqui, Joint Director Information, Kashmir, Rakesh Kumar Vaid, Assistant Commissioner, State Tax Department, Jammu and

Johar Ali, Assistant Commissioner, Revenue, Kupwara. They all will retire on the afternoon of December 31, 2022.

Pertinently, last year, the shortage of officers in J&K had prompted the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) to send an SOS to ministries to prepare a list of Indian Administrative Service (IAS) Indian Police Service (IPS) and other all-India service officers who can be immediately sent on deputation to newly carved Union Territories to meet the acute shortage of officers.

In an office memorandum dated October 26, the MHA had asked Railway Board chairman, Controller General of Accounts, Comptroller Auditor General of India, secretaries of the ministries of defence, external affairs, corporate affairs and I&B, chairpersons of the Central Board of Direct Taxes and the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs, and the departments of commerce, telecommunications and posts to “provide the name(s) of suitable officer(s), eligible for deputation in terms of existing guidelines and willing to serve in the Governments of UT of J&K/UT of Ladakh, along with the cadre-controlling authority’s consent/no objection and vigilance clearance of the officers at the earliest”.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.