Kashmir Rage: 6 More Shot Dead, 5 Succumb to Injuries; Toll 23


SRINAGAR – Six more protesters were killed on Sunday by government forces, talking the death toll in two days of violent protests to 23.

Widespread clashes between public and government forces had broken out after latter intervened to prevent a mass upsurge following the killing of 21 year old Kashmiri militant commander, Burhan Wani, by the police on Friday evening. Eversince there is no let up in protests which have now spread to hitherto peaceful areas of the Valley despite curfew and other restrictions. 

While entire South Kashmir is seething with anger and rage with protesters defying curfew and clashing with the police and paramilitary forces, Sunday saw first killing in Srinagar.

Shabir Ahmad S/o Abdul Rehman of Tengpora Bypass was killed when a tear smoke shell fired by police hit him in the head. Shabir was immediately rushed to hospital where doctors pronounced him dead on arrival.

Situation remained volatile across South Kashmir with no signs of any improvement .Five protesters were killed in the day long clashes in various areas of the South on Sunday with the number of injured running into hundreds. 

Two youth, Irfan Malik of Warwan Pulwama and Fayaz Ahmad Waza of Litter Pulwama were killed when govt forces opened fire to quell protesters near Rajpora Chowk, eyewitnesses said.

The Govt forces opened fire on a mob at Lassipora also in Pulwama district resulting in injuries to at least two persons identified as Gulzar Pandith of Shopian and Muzaffar Hussain of Keegam Shopian.Both of them were rushed to a hospital in Srinagar where they succumbed to their injuries.

Police said forces opened fire at Lassipora after a group of protesting youth torched a TATA 407 vehicle. 

At Qazigund, a youth identified as Mashooq Ahmad of Qund was killed when police and paramilitary forces opened fire on protesters.

Meanwhile five other persons, including a young girl Yasmin Akhtar, who were injured in govt forces action at different places of Kulgam and Anantnag Saturday evening succumbed to their injuries in various hospitals on Sunday. 

They have been identified as Imtiyaz Ahmad Mandoo S/o Mohamad Shafi of Anantnag, Altaf Rather S/o Mohammad Akbar of Rajpora Pulwama, Sajjad Thokar S/o Abdul Rashid of Utrusoo Anantnag, Haseeb Ahmad Ganai S/o Abdul Majeed of Batpora, Khanbal and Yasmeena Akhtar D/O Abdul Rehman of Damhal Hanjipora.

Massive clashes erupted on Saturday a day after Burhan Wani was killed in by police in Kokernag.

Pertinently, 12 youth were killed, all of them in South Kashmir while more than 200 were injured in subsequent protests and clashes. Over 50 persons are said to have received bullet wounds in clashes across the Kashmir valley.

In a bid to control the situation authorities enforced strict curfew across the Kashmir valley where Hurriyat leaders, including Syed Ali Shah Geelani and Mirwaiz Umer Farooq besides JKLF chief Yasin Malik have called for shutdown till Monday.

Despite, strict curfew, reports of clashes have been received from many places in the Valley including Anantnag, Kulgam, Kokernag, Qaimoh, Awantipora, Shopian, Tral, Chanapora Bypass, Lalpora and Takipora.

At Ashmuqam, a group of protesters attacked the residence of SDPO and latter set it on fire.

At Hassanpora Arwani area of Bijbhera, a group of youth attacked SOG camp and tried to set it on fire, however forces rushed to the spot and foiled the attempt.

At Saibogh Budgam a police post was torched by the protesters.

Reportedly Railway Station Bijbehara and a Fisheries hut at AKAD in Aishmuqam were also set a blaze by the angry protesters.

At Lolab in Kupwara a group of protesters sat on fire a bunker of SOG Camp at Takipora, the cop on the duty opened few aerial shots to disperse the protesters.

List of the dead 

1: Saqib Manzoor Mir, Achabal, Anantnag

2: Khursheed Ahmad, Harwat Kulgam

3: Safeer Bhat,  Charigam, Anantnag(drowned)

4: Adil Bashir, Verinag

5: Abdul Hameed Mochi, Arwani Kulgam

6: Danish Shah, Achabal Anantnag

7: Jehangir Ganai, Hassan Pora Bijbehara

8: Azad Hussain, Shopian

9: Aijaz Thokar, Siligam Anantnag

10: Mohammad Ashraf Dar, Kokernag

11: Showkat Mir, Hassanpora, Bijbehara

12: Haseeb Ahmad, Batpora, Anantnag

13: Imtiaz Mandoo, Nandpora Khanbal

14: Mashooq Ahmad, Qazigund 

15: Mohammad Altaf Rather, Rajpora Pulwama

16: Irfan Malik, Nehama Pulwama

17: Gulzar Ahmad Pandith, Shopian

18: Muzaffar Hussain, Shopian

19: Fayaz Ahmad, Litar, Pulwama

20: Yasmin Akhtar, Damhal Hanjipora

21: Shabir Ahmad, Batmaloo, Srinagar




Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.