NC Sounds Poll Bugle In Kashmir, Appoint Constituency Incharges

Srinagar- The Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (NC) on Wednesday issued a list of constituency incharges of Kashmir Valley to garner support for the party ahead of assembly elections slated to be held after completion of electoral rolls in the Union Territory.

The list of 47 Constituency Incharges of the Valley was approved by NC president Dr. Farooq Abdullah and released to the media by Party General Secretary Ali Mohammad Sagar on Wednesday.

The order, released by Sagar, also asked the office bearers in constituencies to coordinate with their respective Constituency Incharges and ensure full support to them, a party spokesperson said.

“The order also enjoined respective Incharges to remain in regular touch with public, party workers and block and Halqa office bearers for making the party stronger at grass root level,” he added.

According to the order, Sagar has been nominated incharge of Khanyar constituency while his son Salman from Hazratbal. Ahsan Pardesi has been named incharge of Lal Chowk constituency, Mushtaq Guroo Channapora, Tanvir Sadiq Zadibal, Mubarak Gul Eidgah, Irfan Shah Batamaloo and Shameema Firdous HabbaKadal.

Omar’s close aide Nasir Aslam Wani (Sogami) is constituency incharge of Kupwara, Kafeel-Ur- Rehman Karnah, Saifullah Mir Trehgam, Qaiser Jamsheed Lone Lolab, Choudhary Mohammad Ramzaan Handwara, Shafqat Watali Langate, Irshad Ahmad Kar Sopore, Javed Ahmad Dar Rafiabad, Dr Sajjad Uri, Ghulam Hassan Rahi Baramulla, Farooq Ahmad Shah Tangmarg, Mohammad Yaqoob Wani Wagoora, Reyaz Ahmad Bedar Pattan, Hilal Akbar Lone Sonawari, Nazir Ahmad Malik Bandipora, Nazir Ahmad Khan Gurez, Mian Altaf Kangan, Ghulam Nabi Rather Ganderbal.

Similarly, Aga Ruhullah has been appointed constituency incharge of Budgam, Dr Mohammad Shafi Beerwah, Saifudin Bhat Khan Sahib, Ab Rahim Rather Char-i-Sharief, Ali Mohammad Dar Chadoora.

Justice (Retd) Hasnain Masoodi has been named incharge of Pampore constituency, Dr Ghulam Nabi Bhat Tral, Mohammad Khalil Bandh Pulwama, GhMohiudin Mir Rajpora, Showkat Ganaie Zainpora, Sheikh Mohammad Rafi Shopian, Sakina Itoo D.H. Pora , Imran Nabi Dar Kulgam, Feroze Shah Devsar, Tauqeer Ahmad Dooru, Ab Majeed Bhat (Larmi) Anantnag West, Peer Mohammad Hussain Anantnag, Dr Bashir Veeri Bijbehara, Riyaz Khan Anantnag East and Altaf Ahmad Kaloo Pahalgam constituency.

A senior NC leader told Kashmir Observer that it doesn’t necessarily mean that the ones nominated as constituency incharges will be the candidates of the party in the upcoming assembly polls.

“The party will take a call on the mandate,” he said.

NC spokesperson, Tanvir Sadiq told Kashmir Observer that the move was inevitable for the better coordination between the constituencies.

“To ensure that there is coordination between the constituencies, the party has decided to nominate incharges. It was the need of the hour,” Sadiq added.

However, the announcement about the constituency in-charges is likely to widen rift between NC and its alliance parties in the PAGD, an amalgam of several mainstream parties, fighting to restore pre-2019 status of Jammu and Kashmir. The move is also likely to cast shadow over the relations between National Conference and its one time arch rival the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), led by Mehbooba Mufti.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.