Govt Renames 18 Schools After ‘Martyrs’, KP Poet

Representational Photo

Srinagar- The Union Territory administration on Thursday announced to rename a number of government schools, colleges, roads after fallen soldiers and cops besides eminent personalities who died while serving their duty for the country.

According to an order from the General Administrative department (GAD) the sanction has been accorded to naming of infrastructure assets after the following martyrs/eminent personalities.

The order was issued by Manoj Kumar Dwivedi, Principal Secretary to the Government of J&K. Earlier, the decision to rename these schools was taken in the Administrative Council (AC) meeting held under the chairmanship of Lieutenant Governor Manoj Sinha on July 22.

It is further ordered that the School Education Department shall take immediate necessary steps including amending records for effecting the changes;

The Government asked the Divisional Commissioner, Kashmir/Jammu to personally monitor the naming of infrastructure assets in their respective divisions while the Deputy Commissioner(s) have been asked to ensure that suitable events are held in connection with the naming of these infrastructure assets.

In 2021, the government renamed 75 schools and 75 roads after martyrs from the police, army and CRPF.

On Thursday, the government decided to rename 18 more schools and other assets after the martyrs.

Government Higher Secondary School Soaf Shali, Anantnag will be renamed after Late Sarwanand Kaul Premi, a Kashmiri Pandit poet and writer.

65-year-old Premi was shot dead by suspected militants along with his young son Virender in his native village in Anantnag district in May 1990. Over three decades after his assassination, the Jammu and Kashmir government early this year conferred lifetime achievement award on the fallen Pandit writer.

Besides Premi, the government also named schools and other assets after the fallen soldiers and policemen. Govt. Boys Middle School, Wanpora, Gurez was renamed after Reyaz Ahmad Lone, GMS Chandanwari after Mohammad Safer Khan, GMS Dab after Para Trooper Shabir Ahmad Malik, BMS Kupwara afterAbdul Hameed Chara, UPS Kundlayan after HC Abdul Rashid Kalas,
GMS, Banday Mohalla, Handwara after Sgct. Ghulam Mustafa Barah,

UPS Kashmiri Manigah after HC Sheraz Ahmad, Govt. Boys Middle School, Jaganoo after Const. Raj Kumar, Govt. Middle School Bagga after SPO Jalal Din, Govt. Girls Middle School, Muthlal, Alanbass after Ct Naseeb Singh,
Govt. Middle school Kheri after Const. Raj Kumar and Govt. Primary School, Dab Ditta after Ct. Jagdev Singh.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.