Al-Badr Member Declared ‘Terrorist’

New Delhi– The Centre designated Al Badr member Arjumand Gulzar Dar alias Hamza Burhan as terrorist for his involvement in a series of militant acts in Jammu and Kashmir.

According to a Gazette notification issued on Tuesday by the Union Ministry of Home Affairs, Arjumand Gulzar Dar alias Hamza Burhan alias Doctor went to Pakistan on valid documents where he joined Al Badr. He has been an active “terrorist” and commander of Al Badr, and since then and currently has been operating from Pakistan, said the Gazette notification.

Dar has been motivating youths to join the said outfit and has been funding the “terror activities” of Al Badr, ever since he went to Pakistan, the notification further said.

He has also been found involved in cases of recovery of explosives from the over ground workers in Pulwama (Kashmir); grenade attack on Central Reserve Police Force personnel on November 18, 2020 in Pulwama; and motivating youths to join militant ranks ofAl Badr.

Born in 1999 and resident of Kharbatpora in Ratnipora under Pulwama district, Dar is one of the active associate members of Al Badr.

“The Central government believes that Arjumand Gulzar Dar alias Hamza Burhan is involved in terrorism and he is notified as a terrorist under the said Act, now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred by clause (a) of sub-section (1) of section 35 of the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, 1967, the Central Government declares him as terrorist,” the Gazette notification reads further.

On April 8, the government had designated Hafiz Talha Saeed, a key leader of the LeT and the son of 26/11 Mumbai attacks mastermind Hafiz Saeed, as a terrorist.

Three days later, on April 11, Pakistani national Mohiuddin Aurangzeb Alamgir, who was involved in an attack on a CRPF bus in Jammu and Kashmir’s Pulwama in 2019, was designated a terrorist.

On April 12, Ali Kashif Jan, the Pakistani handler of the militants involved in the 2016 attack on the Pathankot airbase, was designated as a terrorist by the Centre.

On April 13, Mushtaq Ahmed Zargar, who was involved in a series of attacks in Jammu and Kashmir and was one of the militants released by India in exchange for hostages in the hijacking of Indian Airlines flight IC-814 in 1999, was declared as a designated terrorist. On April 18, Ashiq Ahmed Nengroo, a commander of banned outfit Jaish-e-Mohammad (JeM), was designated as a terrorist.

The LeT has been responsible for a series of deadly attacks in India, mostly in Jammu and Kashmir, in which scores of civilians and security personnel have been killed over the years.

LeT founder Hafiz Saeed and the group’s “operational commander”, Zakiur Rehman Lakhvi, besides JeM founder Maulana Masood Azhar, who was also released by the government in exchange for the passengers of Indian Airlines flight IC-814 from Afghanistan’s Kandahar, are some of the most wanted terrorists in India.

India has been consistently seeking the custody of all three, but Pakistan has refused to comply.

Similarly, Al Badr has also been involved in series of attacks in Jammu and Kashmir.

The LeT, the JeM and Al Badr are listed as terrorist organisations under the First Schedule of the UAPA.

The UAPA has been enacted to provide for more effective prevention of certain unlawful activities of associations and individuals, dealing with terrorist activities and matters connected therewith.

The Act empowers the Centre to notify the name of an individual in its Fourth Schedule if it believes that he is involved in terrorism.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.