Crisis In LAHDC: BJP Councilors Withdraw Support To NC In Kargil

File Photo of Kargil

Srinagar- The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) withdrew its support to the National Conference in Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council-Kargil on Wednesday.

BJP Ladakh President Phunchok Stanzin confirmed to Kashmir Observer that they have withdrawn support to NC.

LAHDC Kargil was jointly running with the BJP-NC alliance led by National Conference leader Feroz Khan.

Earlier, BJP MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal had maintained that despite their ideological differences, the BJP will continue to support NC for a stable administration to ensure the development of the region.

According to a press release issued by the BJP, UT of Ladakh, the decision to withdraw the support was taken after a thorough discussion with all the stakeholders and BJP executive members and functionaries.

It adds that the reason behind withdrawing the support was the lackadaisical approach of LAHDC Kargil under the council that according to him is not serving its constitutional responsibilities.

The handout further reads that the allotted funds for the purpose of public welfare were also not translated in a transparent and accountable manner.

“The influence of the Jammu and Kashmir National Conference is also not favouring public welfare as such, instead, JKNC is resorting to vendetta politics which ultimately creates mistrust between the public and LAHDC-Kargil,” reads the statement. Adding that the “work ethics of LAHDC-Kargil Councilors are also not appropriate for grassroots democracy and Constitutional responsibilities,”

The six BJP members who withdrew support from National Conference are Mohsin Ali (Councillor- Chiktan), Stanzin Lakpa (Councillor-Cha) Muhammad Ali Chandan (Councillor- Shargole) Padma Dorjey (Councillor- Nominated) Leela Bano (Councillor- Nominated) Stanzin Chosgyal (Councillor- Nominated) and Zainab Bee (Councillor- Nominated).

The councillors resigned under the direction of BJP Ladakh President Phunchok Stanzin.

The LAHDC comprises 30 members, 26 are elected. 11 were from the NC, eight from Congress, two from PDP, One from the BJP and five (Independents).

Sources told Kashmir Observer that two candidates from the PDP later joined BJP post abrogation of Article 370.

The four members to the 30-member council were nominated by the Ladakh Union Territory administration. They were from the BJP.

The 2018 elections to the Kargil Hill Council had produced a hung verdict. The NC initially had an alliance with the Congress; the PDP had two councillors and the BJP had one.

After the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, the NC and Congress alliance fell apart, and the NC entered into a coalition with two PDP councillors and four Independents to continue in power in the Council.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Auqib Javeed

Auqib Javeed is special correspondent with Kashmir Observer and tweets @AuqibJaveed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.