Govt Forms 5-Member Panel To Pick New SKIMS Director

Srinagar- The Jammu and Kashmir government on Friday constituted a five-member selection committee to choose a new Director for the premier healthcare institute of the Valley Sher-e-Kashmir institute of medical sciences (SKIMS).

According to an order issued here, Chief Secretary Arun Kumar Mehta will be the Chairman of the selection committee while Dr Randeep Guleria, Director AIIMS, New Delhi, Dr Surjit Singh, Director, Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education & Research (PGIMER), Chandigarh and Prof M. C. Mishra, Former Director, AIIMS New Delhi will be its members.

Financial Commissioner (Additional Chief Secretary, Health & Medical Education Department, Vivek Bhardwaj, will be the member secretary of the selection panel.

According to the order, the selection committee has been tasked to prepare a panel of three candidates in order of merit as per the criteria laid down for making selection for the post of Director, SKIMS.

Pertinently, the health and medical education department has shortlisted 15 candidates for the post of director and Dr. Yogesh Kumar Sarin and Dr. Mohammad Saleem Wani have emerged as frontrunners for the prestigious post.

Other candidates who are in race include Dr. Nisar Ahmad Bhat, Deptt of Paediatric Research SKIMS, Soura, Dr. Altaf Umar Ramzan Professor & Head Department of Neurosurgery SKIMS, Soura, Dr Umar Javed Shah Dean Medical Faculty and HoD Surgical Gastroenterology/Surgical Oncology, Dr. Showkat Ali Mufti Professor & Head, Emergency Medicine Department, SKIMS, Dr Parvaiz Ahmad Koul, Professor & Head, Internal & Pulmonary Medicine, SKIMS, Soura, Dr. Ghulam Nabi Lone Professor and Head Department of CVTS, SKIMS, Dr. Bashir Ahmad Laway Professor and Head, Department of Endocrinology, SKIMS Soura, Dr. Showkat Ahmad Secretary Technical, Health & Medical Education Department, Civil Secretariat, Srinagar, Dr. Naseer Ahmed Mir Professor & Head of Orthopedics, Post Graduate Department of Orthopedics, SKIMS Bemina, Dr. Reyaz Ahmad Untoo, Dr. Adil Hafeez Wani Professor & Head of Department of Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery, SKIMS, Dr. Abdul Wahid Khan Professor. Department of Psychiatry, GMC Anantnag (Academic Arrangement) and Dr. Tariq Ahmad Gojwari Professor & Head Department of Radio-diagnosis SKIMS, Soura.

The interaction with the 15 shortlisted candidates is slated to be held on December 28 with the Selection Committee, local news reports said.

Pertinently, Dr A G Ahangar whose term was extended for a period of six months in June had joined as director in July 2016, however, he was removed in January 2018 but he got the top position again in September 2019 after court directions.

Ahangar was supposed to get retired in June this year, however, he has now got extension for period of six months.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.