J&K Under-19 Men’s & Women’s Cricket Teams Announced

By R. Elahi

SRINAGAR: The Jammu & Kashmir Cricket Association (JKCA) on Friday announced its Under-19 Men’s and Women’s cricket teams less than two weeks after conducting selection trials for the same.

These trials witnessed the participation of hundreds, if not thousands, of men and women cricketers from Kashmir and Jammu regions. 48 probables from both regions were selected to compete in practice matches at SK Stadium in Srinagar.

The JKCA had appointed Men and Women Junior Selection Committees headed by Chief Selectors Arun Sharma (men) and Pratibha Wadhera Bhasin (women) who finalised the 20-member squads. The teams are set to represent Jammu & Kashmir in the upcoming Men’s U-19 Vinoo Mankad Trophy (50-overs) and Women’s U-19 One Day Trophy in Indore and Bhuvneshwar, respectively from September 20 to October 18.

Sub-Committee Member Administration, Anil Gupta while lauding the selection committee said the selected squads will leave from Srinagar and Jammu for their respective destinations of Indore and Bhuvneshwar on September 20.

JKCA Sub-Committee Member-Cricket Operations & Development, Mithun Manhas, while calling the selection “free and fair” also hoped that the selected players would now train as a team to put in their best performances.

Sub-Committee Member Legal Affairs, Sunil Sethi revealed that the two squads will receive personal helmets with JKCA logo along with uniforms “of best quality, procured from original manufacturers”.

“Our endeavour is to prepare our teams in a holistic manner so that the players are able to perform at the highest level and are proud of donning the colours of JKCA and represent J&K,” stated Sunil Sethi.

Men U-19 team: Mohd Hurrer Sofi (Captain), Zayal Faisal, Akshit Gandral (VC), Arya Suvansh Thakur, Abdul Bari, Yuvraj Saini, Danish Hilal, Akash Ayub Bhatt, Mohd Naveed, Tabbish Nissar, Ranjot Singh, Vanshaj Sharma (bowler), Nityam Abrol, Prabhjot Singh, Yaseer Rashid, Dhruv Singh Parmar, Jasbir Singh, Manik Jasrotia, Basit Bashir. Chief Coach: Raju Sharma.

 Women U-19 team: Rudrakshni Chib (Captain), Sadia Wani (VC), Ananya Sharma, Afreen Malik, Anvi Singh, Lalita, Sehrish Tariq, Khushboo Aftab, Shakeena, Sheena, Vanshika, Rounak Jahan, Maria Noorain, Bhavandeep Kaur, Mehak, Aabroo Mir, Nimani, Sheetal, Sania, Arveen. Chief Coach: Chetan Dhingra.

 JKCA Women’s Senior Team Trials From September 12

The JKCA has announced that selection trials for its Women’s Senior (One Day) Team would commence simultaneously at Jammu and Srinagar from September 12. JKCA member Anil Gupta urged for maximum participation particularly from the remote districts. (With KNS inputs)

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



KO Web Desk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.