WhatsApp Launches 'View Once' That Deletes Photos, Videos Once Seen

WhatsApp has rolled out a new feature called 'View Once, that deletes photos and videos from the chat after theyve been opened, giving users even more control over their privacy.

For added privacy, you can now send photos and videos that disappear from your WhatsApp chat after the recipient has opened them once.

"Media will not be saved to the recipient's Photos or Gallery. Once you send a view once photo or video, you won't be able to view it again," WhatApp said in a statement on Tuesday.

The feature has been rolled out to everyone starting this week, and WhatsApp is looking forward to "feedback on this new way to send private and disappearing media".

For example, you might send a View Once photo of some new clothes you're trying on at a store, a quick reaction to a moment in time, or something sensitive like a Wi-Fi password.

"As with all the personal messages you send on WhatsApp, View Once media is protected by end-to-end encryption so WhatsApp cannot see them," the company said.

They will also be clearly marked with a new "one-time" icon.

After the media has been viewed, the message will appear as "opened" to avoid any confusion about what was happening in the chat at the time.

You can't forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with view once media enabled.

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.

ACT NOW
MONTHLYRs 100
YEARLYRs 1000
LIFETIMERs 10000

CLICK FOR DETAILS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

KO SUPPLEMENTS