Vijay Hazare Trophy: J&K Defeats Chandigarh By 8 Wickets

File Photo

SRINAGAR: In what proved to be a batting masterclass, opener Shubham Khajuria (120) and one-down batsman, Henan Nazir (110 not out) scored a hundred each on Monday to give Jammu and Kashmir a much-needed victory over a formidable Chandigarh side in the Vijay Hazare Group E match at Jadavpur University Campus 2nd Ground, Kolkata.

Batting first after winning the toss, Chandigarh were bowled out for a total of 241 runs in 48.3 overs.

Captain Manan Vohra (54), Ankit Kaushik (44) and Raman Bishnoi (31) were the top scorers for Chandigarh. For Jammu and Kashmir, Umar Nazir, Captain Parvez Rasool and Aquib Nabi took three wickets each.

In reply, J&K lost opener Suryansh Raina (1) early on but Shubham Khajuria and Henan Nazir held firm to combine together for a 183-run partnership.

Shubham Khajuria scored 120 runs in just 86 balls, smacking 5 sixes and 15 fours in the process. Henan Nazir scored an unbeaten 110 from 88 balls, dispatching 1 six and 16 fours.

The J&K team, helped by the duo’s scintillating batting performance, overcame Chandigarh’s total in 34 overs and with the loss of just 2 wickets.

For Chandigrah, Jaskaran Singh and Bhagmender Lather took 1 wicket each. The defeat dashed Chandigarh’s hopes of direct qualification to the next round of Vijay Hazare Trophy.


Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.