Bengal Smash J&K, Win Match By 82 Runs In Vijay Hazare Trophy

File Photo

SRINAGAR: The Jammu and Kashmir cricket team on Saturday were smashed by a superior Bengal side in the Vijay Hazare Trophy Group E match played at the Videocon Academy Ground, Saltair, Kolkata.

Put in to bat first, the Bengal batsmen rallied to a dominant total of 368 for the loss of 4 wickets in the allotted 50 overs. Brilliant performances by Abhimanyu Easwaran (99) and skipper A. Majumdar (92 not out) guided their team to the mammoth total. The duo were ably supported by Ritwik Chowdhury (55), Kaif Ahmed (42) and Shahbaz Ahmed (48 not out).

For J&K, Mujtaba Yousuf took 2 wickets. While Umran Malik and Abid Mushtaq took 1 wicket each.

In reply, the entire J&K team were bowled out for 286 runs in 45.3 overs.

The J&K batsmen started off well but Bengal bowlers took regular wickets to break any threatening momentum from the batting side.

Abid Mushtaq (68), Captain Parvaiz Rasool (50) and Shubham Khajuria (44) were the top scorers for their team.

For Bengal, Arnab Nandi took 4 wickets. Mukesh Kumar took 2 while Ishan Porel and Shahbaz Ahmed took 1 wicket each.

This defeat in the 4th Round of the Vijay Hazare Trophy leaves J&K second from bottom of Group E with 4 points, winning 1 and losing 3 in the process. Bengal, on the other hand, climbed to the 3rd spot.

J&K next play 2nd-placed Chandigarh on March 1.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.