6 More Villages Declared Red Zones in Bandipora

KO File Pic: Abid Bhat

Srinagar- The authorities in Kashmir on Sunday declared six villages in Bandipora district as ‘red zones’ on Sunday after six people tested positive for coronavirus in these areas.

The villages are Konan, Gund Qaiser, Gund-Dachina, Hakbara, Madwan and Pethkote, all in the north Kashmir district, an official spokesperson said.

“Six more villages were declared red zones and their surrounding villages as buffer zones in the Bandipora district to prevent spread of coronavirus after six persons from these villages were declared COVID-19 positive in past two days,” he said.

District Magistrate, Bandipora, Shahbaz Ahmad Mirza has said that in view of the six positive cases reported from these villages, it became imperative to initiate restrictive measures under section 144 of CrPC for prevention of danger to the human life, health and safety.

Under the order issued by the DM, there should be no outward or inward movement of any individual for any reason in these villages, the spokesman said.

The DM has also directed law enforcing agencies to implement the prohibitory orders in letter and spirit to save lives and warned of strict action against violators.


Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.