Election Ends, Low Turn Out Stays


SRINAGAR — The low turn trend continued in last of the three-phased election to Anantnag Parliamentary seat with Pulwama district, spread over four assembly segments, recording a little more than two percent voting while turn out remained below 3 percent in Shopian district. Overall, the last phase of polls in Kashmir and Ladakh, which saw brisk polling, recorded 18.02% voting. 

As per officials, 2.14 percent voting was recorded in Pulwama and at the same time, Shopian district, spread over two assembly segments, saw 2.88%.  


The two districts of Ladakh Parliamentary constituency—Leh and Kargil witnessed 54.06% and 73.38% respectively.  

Giving the assembly wise break-up of voting in Pulwama, the official said that Tral saw 1.03%, Pampore 5.26%, Pulwama 0.76% and 1.70%. Similarly, he said, Wachi assembly segment saw 1.70% and Shopian 4.0%.   

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) J&K, Shailendra Kumar informed in a press conference here that the total number of votes polled was 14,6,76. With the completion of the today’s phase, the overall poll percentage of Anantnag constituency has touched 8.76 percent. Similarly in Ladakh PC, the overall poll percentage has touched 63.70 per cent.


The Kargil district consists of two assembly segments Kargil and Zanskar while Leh district includes Nubra and Leh assembly segments, the officials said. Kargil assembly segment saw 72.11%, Zanskar 77.04%, Nubra 61.10% and Leh 52.69% respectively.  

With the completion of all five phases of polling today the total percentage of voting in various parliamentary constituencies in the state including Baramulla, Jammu, Srinagar, Udhampur, Anantnag and Ladakh was recorded at 44.51%.

The candidates in fray for the Ladakh Lok Sabha seat are Rigzin Spalbar of Congress, Jamyang Tsering Namgyal of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Asgar Ali Karbalai and Sajjad Hussain – both independents

Pulwama district has 351,314 electors including 181,259 males, 169,508 females, 541 service electors (533 male and eight female) and six transgender voters. 450 polling stations were set up across the district.

Similarly, Shopian district has 171,216 electors including 89,868 males, 81,227 females, 116 service electors (113 male and three female) and five transgender voters. The EC has set up 245 polling stations across the district.

The candidates in the fray are Hasnain Masoodi of Jammu Kashmir National Conference, Sofi Yousuf of BJP, Ghulam Ahmad Mir of Congress, Mehbooba Mufti of Jammu Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party, Nisar Ahmad Wani of Jammu and Kashmir National Panthers Party, Choudhary Zaffar Ali of Jammu Kashmir People’s Conference, Sanjay Kumar Dhar of Manav Adhikar Party, Surinder Singh of Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) and Independents Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, Ridwana Sanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Zubair Masoodi, Shams Khwaja, Ali Mohammad Wani, Ghulam Mohammad Wani, Kyasir Ahmed Sheikh, Manzoor Ahmad Khan and Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh.

The Anantnag and Kulgam districts of Anantnag constituency went to the polls on April 23 and April 29, respectively. 

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.