Lok Sabha Elections: Srinagar, Udhampur Seats Go To Polls Today

SRINAGAR — The high profile Srinagar and Udhampur parliamentary constituencies will go to polls on Thursday amid tight security arrangements.

There are 12 candidates in the fray for Srinagar seat spread over three districts of Srinagar, Budgam and Ganderbal and have 15 assembly segments.  

Among those in fray  include National Conference president and former chief minister Farooq Abdullah, Sheikh Khalid Jehangir of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Aga Syed Mohsin of Peoples Democratic Party and Irfan Raza Ansari of the Peoples Conference.

The Srinagar constituency is presently represented by Farooq Abdullah who won the 2017 by-election from there. Abdullah got 48,555 votes and won the seat after defeating PDP’s Nazir Ahmad Khan who got only 37,779 votes. The overall turnout recorded was 7.12 percent.

The Udhampur seat is, geographically, state’s largest parliamentary constituency spread over 17 assembly segments in six districts including Kishtwar, Doda, Ramban, Reasi, Udhampur and Kathua in Jammu province.

It is spread over 17 assembly segments comprising six districts of Kishtwar, Doda, Ramban, Reasi, Udhampur and Kathua.

The Udhampur parliamentary seat has 16, 85,779 electors.

For the smooth conduct of election, the Election Commission of India has established 2,710 polling stations.

In the 2014 general election, the number of voters in the constituency was 14,69,072.

The last parliamentary election was won by Jitendra Singh of the BJP by defeating his nearest rival Ghulam Nabi Azad of the Congress. Singh secured 487,369 votes while Azad managed to bag 426,393 votes.

A total of 12 candidates including BJP’s Jitendra Singh, Congress’s Vikramaditya Singh, former member parliament and minister Choudhary Lal Singh and former state minister Harsh Dev Singh are in the fray.

The seat, presently being representing by Jitendra Singh—a minister in the Narendra Modi government—witnessed a high voltage campaigning by political parties in the past few weeks to ensure maximum public support to their respective candidates.

For the Congress party, leader of opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad took the charge of campaigning, alongside former Sadr-e-Riyasat Karan Singh, to seek votes for the party’s candidate Vikramaditya Singh. Congress party’s star poll campaigner and Punjab chief minister, captain Amarinder Singh and party’s general secretary Jyotiraditya Scindia also campaigned for Vikramaditya.

In the 2014 general elections, there were a total of 14, 69,072 electors in the constituency and of these, 10, 42,375 (70.95%) had voted. Jitendra, who defeated Congress stalwart Ghulam Nabi Azad in the 2014 elections, was elected MP with 4,87,369 votes while Azad got 4,26,393 votes.

Interestingly, the then sitting Congress MP Choudhary Lal Singh didn’t campaign for Azad, and after the elections ended, he parted ways with the Congress to join the BJP. Presently Singh has launched his own party, the Dogra Swabhiman Sanghatan.

The Udhampur seat has mostly been a Congress bastion since 1967, barring 1996, 1998, 1999 and 2009 when BJP’s Chaman Lal Gupta won from here, followed by Jitendra Singh in 2014. The election authorities said they have set up 2,710 polling stations across the constituency for smooth conduct of elections.


Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.