13 In Fray From Srinagar, 10 From Baramulla  


SRINAGAR — Pending scrutiny of papers and withdrawal of candidature, thirteen candidates have been left in fray from Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency.  

On the last date for filing nominations, ten nominations were filed on Tuesday before the Returning Officer here  and they included Irfan Raza Ansari of J&K Peoples Conference, Abdul Rashid Ganie of  J&K National Panthers Party, Abdul Khaliq Bhat of Shiv Sena, Aga Syed Mohsin of J&K Peoples Democratic Party, Nazir Ahmad Sofi of Manavadikar National Party, Showkat Hussain Khan of Janta Dal United, Abid Hussain Ansari of J&K Peoples Conference and Abdul Rashid Banday, Bilal Sultan, Sajad Ahmad Dar, all independents.

With this, 13 nominations have been filed for the Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency.

Earlier, Dr Farooq Abdullah of J&K National Conference, Sheikh Khalid Jehangir of Bharatiya Janata Party and Nazir Ahmad Lone of Rashtriya Jan Kranti Party  filed their nomination papers.

The scrutiny of papers will be held on March 27 and the last date of withdrawal of candidature is March 29 up to 3 PM.

The polling will be held on April 18, 2019. The voting hours have been fixed from 7:00AM to 6:00PM.

Meanwhile, nominations by four independent candidates were rejected on the scrutiny of the nomination papers filed for the elections of Baramulla Parliamentary Constituency was held here today by the Returning Officer, Dr. G N Itoo.

Election Observers for the constituency, Gamli Padu, Dr P Shakil Ahmad and Ambrish Kumar and representatives of various candidates were present on the occasion.

The nomination papers of Ab Majeed Bhat, Syed Muzaffar Ali, Mohammad Abdullah Chatwal and Syed Aamir Sohail all independents were rejected on several grounds.

The nomination papers of Raja Aijaz Ali of Jammu and Kashmir People’s Conference (JKPC), Abdul Quyoom Wani of People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Mohammad Akbar Lone of National Conference (NC), Maqbool War of Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP), Jahangir Khan of Jammu and Kashmir National Panthers Party (JKNPP), Haji Farooq Ahmad Mir of Indian National Congress (INC) and Syed Najeeb Shah Naqvi, Abdul Rasheed Shaheen, Javeed Ahmad Qureshi, Abdul Rasheed Shiekh all in independents were accepted.

The last date of withdrawal of candidature is March 28 up to 3 PM.

The polling will be held on April 11, 2019. The voting hours have been fixed from 7:00AM to 6:00PM.

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.