Lok Sabha Polls: PDP Chooses Wani Over Beigh From Baramulla


BARAMULLA — Peoples Democratic Party on Friday field former employees’ leader Abdul Qayoom Wani while National Conference choose former speaker of the legislative assembly Mohammad Akbar Lone to contest Baramulla parliamentary constituency. The constituency was represented by senior PDP leader Muzaffar Hussian Beigh but PDP chose not to field him again.   

Returning Officer for Baramulla Parliamentary Constituency, Dr G N Itoo has informed that four nominations were filled on Friday for the upcoming elections to this Lok Sabha seat, the polling for which has been scheduled in 1st phase on April 11.The nominations were filed by Raja Aijaz Ali (former IGP Crime Branch) of Jammu and Kashmir People’s Conference (JKPC), Abdul Qayoom Wani of People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Mohammad Akbar Lone of National Conference (NC) and Syed Ameer Sohail as Independent Candidate.

Meanwhile, two nominations were filed today for the elections to Jammu-Poonch Parliamentary Constituency, taking the total number of nominations filed so far to four.As per election authorities, Jugal Kishore of Bhartiya Janta Party and Subhash Chander as Independent candidate filed their nominations to the Returning Officer Ramesh Kumar here at DC Office.Four candidates have filed their nominations for the Parliamentary Constituency so far, which is going to polls on April 11

National Conference (NC) legislator Muhammad Akbar Lone while speaking to media assured the public that his party will make efforts to resolve the Kashmir issue if voted to power in April.

The NC and Congress have sealed an alliance for three Lok Sabha seats in the state and decided to go for friendly contests on three other seats.

In a meeting, Rahul Gandhi-led Congress agreed not to field any of its candidate against NC president Farooq Abdullah from Srinagar while NC left the seats of Jammu and Udhampur for its ally.

Six Lok Sabha seats of Jammu and Kashmir will go to polls in five phases.

Baramulla and Jammu constituencies will go to polls in the first phase while Srinagar and Udhampur constituencies will go to polls in the second phase.

Anantnag constituency will go to polls in third, fourth and fifth phases given the precarious security situation in the south Kashmir region. And Ladakh constituency will go to polls in the fifth phase.



Observer News Service

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.