Out To ‘Foil BJP Designs,’Say Independent Candidates From Old City

SRINAGAR — Amid boycott of municipal polls by major pro-India parties like National Conference and People’s Democratic Party, three young men from this summer capital city say they are in the fray as independent candidates to “foil the designs” of Bharatiya Janata Party.  

Baba Firdous from Eidgah, Muhammad Fazil Khan from Rainawari, Mudabir Fayaz from Hawal and Abdul Majid Tantray of Soura jointly told local news agency CNS that they don’t relate these elections with “ongoing freedom struggle.”

 “We are in fray to work for our own people who have promised to back and support us. Besides, we don’t want BJP to have hegemony in the state in coming time,” they said.

Baba Firdous (28) is contesting from ward number 48 and 51 from Eidgah Srinagar which is going for polls on October 13. “I am confident of my victory as my locality has promised they will vote for me,” he said.

Abdul Majid Tantray (36) is also contesting from two wards 69 and 71 from Rangpora Soura. Muhammad Fazil Shah (30) is contesting from ward number 62 of Miya Shah Sahab Rainawari while Mudabir Fayaz (26) is contesting from ward number 56 of Hawal Srinagar. Soura, Hawal and Rainawari will go for polls on October 16.

 These candidates claimed that they are apolitical and are not being funded by anyone. “We are 9 friends and all are contesting from Srinagar’s different wards. We have not received any money from anyone and we are not affiliated with any political party,” they said.

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.