PTI Names Imran Khan As PM Nominee

ISLAMABAD — Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s parliamentary committee on Monday officially nominated Imran Khan as the party’s prime ministerial candidate.

The party of the 65-year-old cricketer-turned-politician emerged as the single largest side in the National Assembly in the July 25 general elections.

Khan was nominated by PTI’s parliamentary committee which met at a hotel here. The meeting was attended by several top leaders and elected members of PTI including Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Asad Umar, Pervez Khattak, Chaudhry Sarwar, Fawad Chaudhry, Arif Alvi and Shafqat Mahmood.

Qureshi, the party’s senior vice president, presented a resolution in favour of Khan’s nomination to become the party’s parliamentary leader, which was accepted by the members.

The meeting was taken into confidence about the formation of the government and it unanimously decided to nominate Imran Khan as party nominee for the Prime Minister, according to PTI sources.

Khan thanked the members for showing confidence in his leadership.

Earlier in the day, Khan left his Banigala residence for the first time after his party’s victory in last week’s elections. Despite Khan’s explicit instructions and refusal to travel with a large protocol, a number of cars and heavy security tagged along with him.

While the exact date of the swearing-in of Pakistan’s new prime minister has not been announced, reports say it could take place on August 14, the Independence Day of the country.

Pakistan’s National Assembly comprises a total of 342 members, of which 272 are directly elected. A party can only form the government if it manages to clinch 172 seats in total.

PTI spokesman Fawad Chaudhry claimed that allies and reserved seats will take the party tally to 174 seats in the National Assembly.

Key members of Khan’s cabinet

As Imran Khan has already decided to form small federal cabinet in the first phase of government formation, the names of some of his key members have surfaced now.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan, PML-Q and Balochistan Awami Party will be given one federal ministry in the 15-20 members’ cabinet of Imran Khan, Geo News quoting sources reported.

Report said Asad Umar, Pervaiz Khattak, Chaudhry Muhammad Sarwar, Zartaj Gul, Dr Arif Alvi, Fawad Chaudhry, Shireen Mazari would be members of Imran Khan’s small cabinet, however, their portfolios would be announced later.

Sources said MQM-P will be given Ports and Shipping ministry at the initial level and its advisor will be inducted later.

Tariq Basheer Cheema, the sources said, PTI’s coalition partner Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) likely federal minister.

On the other hand, Mian Mehmood-ur-Rasheed, Dr Yasmeen Rashid, Aslam Iqbal, Sibtain Khan, Arif Abbasi will be PTI’s cabinet members in Punjab, while Raja Muhammad Basharat is strong candidate from PML-Q in the coalition government of two parties.

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.