Parvez Rasool among 16 pocket awards

Srinagar—Sixteen top perform­ers and coaches in various sports field were honoured with 1st S. Rangil Singh Award for Sports Excellence for 2016-17 with Min­ister for PHE, Irrigation and Flood Control Sham Lal Choudhary handing over them the awards, an official statement said.

The award ceremony, accord­ing to the statement, that was held at Amar Singh Club saw Choudary as the chief guest.

Minister of State for Youth Services and Sports Sunil Kumar Sharma was the guest of honour on the occasion. MLC Ashok Kha­juria was the special guest and General Secretary, J&K Olympic Association Ashutosh Sharma was also present in the function.

Those who walked away with the awards included Olympian Shooter Chain Singh, interna­tional cricketer Parvez Rasool, footballer Arun Kumar Malhotra, volleyball player Saqlain Tariq, Table Tennis ace Ajay Sharma, former international Wushu player and coach Indina Wushu Team Kuldeep Handoo, Senior Basketball coach Aman Sharma, former ace athlete and lecturer Physical Education Nirmal Singh, cyclist Mohd. Abdul Teli, Wushu players Surya Bhanu Partap Singh and Rajinder Singh, fenc­ing player Vansh Mahajan, JUDO players Shweta Thakur and Dan­ish Sharma, Kho-Kho player Shubham Singh Bhau and athlete Amarjeet Singh.




Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.