BJP Denial Of Vote-Concession To PDP Reveals Cracks In Coalition


Jammu: With BJP virtually denying conceding one seat to its ally PDP in Jammu the cracks in ruling PDP-BJP coalition have come out open in the council elections for two seats held on Monday in Jammu legislature complex.

As the PDP had conceded one council seat to BJP’s G.L.Raina from valley, the BJP on its part was bound to concede one seat to PDP from Jammu province which it virtually did not.

Reports said the PDP candidate Abdul Quayoom Dar and BJP candidate Vikram Randawa secured 29 votes each, the BJP in breach of the seat sharing agreement refused to offer PDP candidate two extra votes which would help him to qualify for election to the legislative council.

As PDP and BJP candidates secured 29 votes each, the election authorities choose to decide the fate of candidate through draw of lots as mandated by the relevant rules of the election procedures and interestingly BJP candidate was declared elected through of lots.

In election for yet another council seat, the Congress candidate Balbeer Singh backed by National Conference was declared elected as he got the support of four unattached members including Hakeem Mohammad Yaseen Chairman Peoples’ Democratic Front, M.Y Tarigami CPI(M) State Secretary, Er Rasheed MLA Langate and Pawan Gupta MLA Udhampur.

Jolt for the BJP was the support of Pawan Gupta to Congress candidate as Gupta was till recently backing BJP but in today’s election he virtually switched over to the opposition camp and backed Congress candidate. (KNS)

Congress NC delegation meets ECI

Meanwhile a joint delegation of senior leaders of Congress and NC led by J&K Pradesh Congress Committee (JKPCC) President G A Mir met the Election Commission of India in New Delhi on Tuesday and apprised it of their experience and the role of the Govt during the campaigning, besides discussing the overall situation in Kashmir valley especially in Anantnag Lok Sabha Constituency.

The delegation gave a detailed presentation to the Election Commission about the situation and shared their experience during the period of Campaigning for the Anantnag Lok Sabha Constituency.

They apprised the Commission about the hardships faced by the Opposition Parties during the campaigning especially in Anantnag Constituency and the role of the Sate Govt and Official Machinery in this regard. The Delegation also regretted that the contesting Candidate and the Opposition Parties were not taken on board while deferring and rescheduling polling for Anantnag Lok Sabha seat.

The delegation expressed serious concern over the situation that prevailed in the Constituency and said that it was the duty of the State Govt to create a conducive atmosphere and appropriate security environment for the conduct of free, fair and successful Electoral exercise, but it utterly failed in it’s duty and played a partisan role during the campaigning.

The delegation also submitted a Memorandum highlighting the failures and role of the present Govt and urged the Commission to take all necessary and adequate measures inorder to instill the confidence amongst the voters especially Opposition for any further decision regarding conduct of the election to the seat and to ensure free, fair, independent and impartial atmosphere for the same.

The delegation comprised Mubarak Gul, Nawang Rizin Jora, Aijaz Ahmad Khan, G. M. Saroori, Altaf Ahmad Kaloo, M Amin Bhat, Ab. Majeed Larmi, Gulzar Ahmad Wani, Showket Hussain Ganie, and Balbir Singh.

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.