3 Make it to Upper House Unopposed


JAMMU: On the last date for withdrawal of the candidature for the biennial elections to the Legislative Council today, four candidates made their entry to the Upper House as they were declared elected unopposed by the Secretary Legislative Assembly, who is also the Returning Officer for these elections.

Yasir Reshi, G L Raina, Aga Syed Mehmood and Pradeep Sharma who were in the straight contest were declared elected unopposed.

Mr Pradeep Sharma (BJP) won against Poonch seat, where as Aga Syed Mehmood of (NC), Mr G L Raina (BJP) and Mr Yasir Reshi of (PDP) from Kashmir.

Earlier, one Ashok Kumar Bhat, who had filed the nomination papers for Kashmir Province withdrew his candidature thus leaving Mr Yasir Reshi, Mr G L Raina and Aga Syed Mehmood only contesting candidates against equal number of vacancies and were declared unopposed.

While declaring these candidates elected unopposed, the Returning Officer of the Elections, Mohammad Ramzan granted them the Certificates of Election as Members to the Upper House.

Legislators, Choudhary Sukhnandan Kumar, Rajeev Jasrotia, Surinder Ambardar and large number of supporters of the candidates were present on the occasion.


Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.