Lok Sabha By-polls: Tassaduq, Mir File Nomination Papers

ANANTNAG:  People’s Democratic Party candidate for Anantnag-Pulwama Lok Sabha seat, Tassaduq Mufti filed his nomination papers here on Wednesday.

A huge gathering of party leaders and workers accompanied him to the office of returning officer in Anantnag, a PDP statement said.

Tassaduq, only son of former CM late Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, is a cinematographer by profession. However, he formally joined unionist politics on January 07 this year when his party observed death anniversary of his father.

Talking to the reporters after filing his papers Tasaduq said that the he was ready for the contest and that “the real challenge for him will start once the elections are over”.

“Challenge for me would be to address aspirations and expectations of the people and the job will start after elections are over,” he said.

PDP’s senior member and MP, Muzaffar Hussain Baig; party vice-president Muhammad Sartaj Madni; Ministers Ab Rehman Veeri, Ab Haq Khan, Farooq Andrabi; MP Rajya Sabha, Nazir Ahmad Laway, MP; Mehboob Beg; Ab Rahim Rather, MLA; Aijaz Mir, MLA; Mohammad Rafi Mir; Yasir Reshi MLC; Firdous Tak, MLC; Peer Mansoor Hussain, Sajad Mufti were present on the occasion.

Cong-NC Candidate Files Nomination

Jammu And Kashmir Pradesh Congress Committee (JKPCC) Chief, Ghulam Ahmad Mir filed nomination papers for the Anantnag Lok Sabha seat on Wednesday.

[[{“type”:”media”,”fid”:”14632″,”view_mode”:”wysiwyg”,”instance_fields”:”override”,”attributes”:{“height”:”165″,”width”:”220″,”class”:”ko-image medium-responsive img-responsive”}}]]

Mir was accompanied by former chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir and working National Conference (NC) President Omar Abdullah, Tariq Hameed Karra, Senior Congress leaders Ambika Soni and Peerzada Mohammad Sayeed.

NC and Congress have formed pre-poll alliance for the upcoming Lok Sabha by-elections of the two seats in Kashmir.

Polls for the Anantnag seat are scheduled on April 12.

Farooq Abdullah and GA Mir are the candidates of NC-Cong alliance for Srinagar and Anantnag seats, respectively.

4 Candidates File Papers for Anantnag Seat

Four candidates on Wednesday filed their nomination papers for by-elections to Anantnag Lok Sabha seat.

The candidates include Tasaduq Hussain Mufti of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Ghulam Ahmad Mir of Indian National Congress (INC), Sanjay Kumar Dhar of Samajwadi Party and Rakesh Koul who is an independent candidate.

The candidates filed their nomination papers before the Returning Officer for the Anantnag Lok Sabha seat.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.