Karra Likely To Contest Lok Sabha By-Polls

Srinagar: As the Election Commission of India issued notice for conducting by-polls for two Parliament seats in the Kashmir valley, political parties have geared up for discussing probable candidates to contest the elections.

J&K Pradesh Congress Committee (JKPCC) Friday held an important meeting in Jammu to discuss the by-elections to Srinagar and Anantnag Lok Sabha constituencies.

The party has appointed senior leaders, Taj Mohi-u-Din for Anantnag constituency, while Peerzada Muhammad Syed for Srinagar seat as observers.

“These two senior leaders will discuss will hold discussions with party workers and voters to get their feedback for choosing candidates who can contest the elections,” JKPCC President G A Mir told KNS.

Mir said that several senior leaders were discussed as probable candidates to go into the poll fray.

The probable candidates for Anantnag parliament constituency who were discussed include, former JK PCC chief Peerzada Muhammad Syed, incumbent president, G A Mir, MLAs Shangus Gulzar Ahmad Wani and Muhammad Amin Bhat, Vice presidents Muhammad Anwar Bhat and Bashir Ahmad Magray.

While for Srinagar Lok Sabha seat names of senior leader Tariq Hameed Karra, Ghulam Nabi Mir Lasjan were discussed among others to contest the by-polls.

AS per ECI notice, elections for these two seats are to be held on April 9 and 12.

Asked whether the JKPCC would contest the polls in alliance with National Conference, Mir said that it was “discussed too”.

“Today’s meeting in Jammu was an immediate consensus call on the by-polls. We also discussed seat adjustment and were of the firm opinion that Congress Party High Command should take a final call on it,” Mir said.

JKPCC held a meeting to review the socio-political and security situation obtaining in the valley especially in Anantnag and Srinagar Lok Sabha Parliamentary seats.

The meeting was presided over by President Mr. G.A. Mir. Senior Party leaders and legislators attended the meeting and threadbare discussed the strategies with regard to upcoming Parliamentary elections.

Among other who were present in the meeting included CLP Leader Nawang Rigzin Jora, former PCC President Peerzada Mohd Syed, senior Vice President Shamlal Sharma, Dy.CLP leader Aijaz Ahmad Khan, senior leader and Ex MP Madan Lal Sharma, former Dy.CM Tara Chand, senior leader Taj Mohi U Din, MLC Vice President G. N. Monga, senior leader Tariq Hamid Karra, senior leader Mula Ram and others. (KNS)

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.