Srinagar city left out


Srinagar: Under Mehbooba Mufti’s leadership, Srinagar, the summer capital of Jammu and Kashmir this time got no cabinet minister. During Mufti Muhammad Sayeed’s regime, a cabinet minister and two ministers of state represented the city that included Syed Altaf Bukhari (Amirakadal), Muhammad Ashraf Mir (Sonawar) and Asiya Naqash (Hazratbal). This time out of 8 Assembly segments of Srinagar district, Asiya Naqash is the sole legislator who has been inducted in the council of ministers with a charge of minister of state.

Srinagar has 8 Assembly segments, viz: Amirakadal, Habakadal, Batamaloo, Sonwara, Eidgah, Hazratbal, Khanyar and Zadibal. Out of these 8 segments, Amirakadal, Batamaloo, Zadibal, Sonawar and Zadibal are represented by People’s Democratic Party legislators. “It is very unfortunate that PDP sidelined Srinagar city. Amirakadal constituency that is known as the heart of city deserves representation, but the party didn’t bother to take care of the aspirations of the people,” a trader from city centre Lal Chowk said

During Omar Abdullah regime, Amirakadal was represented by Nasir Aslam Wani who was in charge of multiple portfolio’s before his exit from the council of ministers. The late Mufti Muhammad Sayeed had inducted Syed Muhammad Altaf Bukhari to represent Amirakadal constituency while Muhammad Ashraf Mir who defeated the former Chief Minister Omar Abdullah from Sonawar constituency was also a minister during late Sayeed’s government, however, this time both these ministers were dropped by the party.

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.