World T20: West Indies give contracts to 12 players


The West Indies cricketers’ acrimonious pay dispute with their Board has been resolved with 12 of them signing their contracts for the World T20 in India but batsman Darren Bravo has opted out to “concentrate on the longer formats of the game”.

The West Indies Cricket Board said that star batsman Chris Gayle, skipper Darren Sammy, Sulieman Benn, Jason Holder, Andre Fletcher, Dwayne Bravo, Samuel Badree, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels and Denesh Ramdin have signed their contracts within the deadline that ended on Sunday.

However, Bravo became the third cricketer to pull out from the squad, joining Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard. But none of them have cited the pay dispute as reason for their withdrawal.

“Following the withdrawal of Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard, selectors have named Ashley Nurse and Carlos Brathwaite respectively, to replace them,” the WICB said in a statement.

 “The selectors will name Bravo’s replacement shortly.”

While Pollard was forced out due to injury, Narine insisted that he was not well-prepared for the mega-event due to the suspension he served for a suspect bowling action.

Bravo has played only 12 T20 Internationals and the 27-year-old said he wants to focus himself on Test and 50-over cricket.

“I’m very grateful and humbled for the opportunity to represent the West Indies at the World Cup,” Bravo said in a statement.

“However, I’m of the firm belief that I have a very big part to play in the resurgence of West Indies cricket in the longer formats of the game and I will like the opportunity to play in our Professional Cricket League (PCL) because it will put me in good stead and will allow me to achieve those goals that I have aligned myself for the year 2016 and beyond.”

On the brighter side, the end of the bitter pay dispute between the WICB and the players ends weeks of speculation about whether the Caribbeans will at all be present at the mega-event.

Sammy had stated that players were to be paid just USD 6,900 per match in India, a deal which was unacceptable to the them.

Squad: Darren Sammy (c), Sulieman Benn, Jason Holder, Andre Fletcher, Dwayne Bravo, Samuel Badree, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin, Chris Gayle, Ashley Nurse, Carlos Brathwaite. (Bravo’s replacement to be named)


Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.