PCB name Mohammad Aamir in T20, ODI squad for New Zealand tour

Karachi—PCB on Friday named Mohammad Aamir in its squads for three Twenty20 internationals and three one-day internationals in New Zealand this month, four months after the left-arm pacer completed a five-year ban for spot-fixing.

Aamir’s inclusion was contingent on the fast bowler – who has a criminal record for his role in arranging no-balls to order in exchange for money, Chief selector PCB Haroon Rasheed said.

“But Amir’s inclusion is subject to clearance by the New Zealand immigration authorities,” said Rasheed.

Aamir also served half of a six month sentence at a juvenile detention centre in the UK after being convicted of conspiracy to cheat.

“We are not undermining other players and forcing him [back] but there is always a difference between normal and extraordinary players. We are not axing anyone to bring him in. They are all part of the circuit and part and parcel of our planning,” Rasheed said while talking to ESPN Cricinfo.

Aamir in an interview with AFP said he was confident most fans were on his side. 

“I am sure fans will love me. But even if there are taunts and harsh remarks I am ready for that and will do my best to reply to them with love and by taking wickets,” he said.

“He’s a valuable asset for Pakistan cricket and we have seen his utility in recent stints. He has served his punishment; the ICC has cleared him too,” said former Pakistan skipper Mohammad Yousuf.

By giving in extraordinary performance in the ongoing Quaid-i-Azam Trophy experienced fast bowler Umar Gul was recalled in the 16-man squad for Twenty20 series. 

All-rounder Imad Wasim also made a comeback to the team after recovering from an injury he suffered before the recent England series in October last year.

The 20-year old left-arm spinner Zafar Gohar was another noticeable inclusion in the team after leg-spinner Yasir Shah tested positive in a random dope sampling test taken on November 13, 2015, resulting in the ICC provisionally suspending the leg-spinner.

For the 50-over format, Pakistan recalled middle-order batsmen Asad Shafiq and Sohaib Maqsood in the squad while the left-arm quartet of Rahat Ali, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan and Aamir will form the fast bowling attack.

Here is the list PCB announced for the T20 and ODI squad for New Zealand tour this month:

Twenty20 Squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shahid Afridi (Captain), Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Amir Yamin, Sarfraz Ahmed (Wk), Wahab Riaz, Umar Gul, Mohammad Rizwan, Saad Nasim, Mohammad Aamir (Subject to grant of visa).

ODI Squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Azhar Ali (Captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sohaib Maqsood, Zafar Gohar, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed (Wk), Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Aamir (Subject to grant of visa).

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.