Notification for IVth Phase Issued

SRINAGAR: Election Commission of India Wednesday issued notification for holding the elections in eighteen out of the 87 assembly constituencies in the fourth phase of the five-phase elections.

The Governor, in exercise of powers vested in him under provisions of the Sub-Section (1) of Section 27 of the Jammu and Kashmir Representation of the People Act, 1957 and as recommended by the Election Commission of India (ECI), has issued the notification for holding the elections in eighteen constituencies in the fourth phase.

The constituencies going to polls are Hazratbal, Zadibal, Idgah, Khanyar, Habbakadal, Amirakadal, Sonwar and Batamaloo in Srinagar District, Anantnag, Dooru, Kokernag, Shangus, Bijbehara and Pahalgam in Anantnag District, Shopian and Wachi in Shopian District and Samba (SC) and Vijaypur in Samba district.

As per the notification, November 26 (Wednesday) will be the last date for filing of nominations, scrutiny of the papers will be held on November 27 (Thursday) and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is November 29, 2014 (Saturday).

Elections in these constituencies will be held on December 14, 2014 from 8 am to 4 pm and December 29, 2014 (Monday) as the date before which the election shall be completed.

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.