NC-Congress coalition faces rout in J&K

SRINAGAR:The Congress-National Conference coalition were decimated from Jammu and Kashmir with Peoples Democratic Party winning all the three seats from Kashmir Valley and Jammu voting for Modi led BJP.

The National Conference which had won three seats from the Valley in the last general elections has been unable to retain even a single seat.

In a major setback to the NC, the party chief Farooq Abdullah lost to PDP’s Tariq Hameed Karra in the Srinagar seat.

Mehbooba Mufti-led Peoples Democratic Party won three seats unlike 2009 elections where it was unable to open its account.

Mufti trounced NC’s Mirza Mehboob Beg from the Anantnag constituency.

BJP state chief Jugal Kishore Sharma has defeated two-time Congress MP Madan Lal Sharma by a margin of 2.55 lakh votes in Jammu Lok Sabha seat.

Union minister Ghulam Nabi Azad on Friday lost from the Udhampur Lok Sabha constituency in Jammu and Kashmir, officials said. 

The senior Congress leader lost to BJP’s Jitender Singh, while Peoples Democratic Party’s Arshad Malik came a distant third. 

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.