NC-Cong faces rout: Farooq Abdullah falls

SRINAGAR: The Congress-National Conference coalition has been decimated from Jammu and Kashmir with Peoples Democratic Party winning all the three seats from Kashmir Valley and Jammu voting for Modi led BJP.

The National Conference which had won three seats from the Valley in the last general elections has been unable to retain even a single seat.

In a major setback to the NC, the party chief Farooq Abdullah lost to PDP’s Tariq Hameed Karra in the Srinagar seat.

In Central Kashmir’s Srinagar-Budgam constituency, PDP’s Tariq Hameed Karra defeated National Conference patron Farooq Abdullah by margin of 40628.

Mehbooba Mufti-led Peoples Democratic Party won three seats unlike 2009 elections where it was unable to open its account.

Mufti trounced NC’s Mirza Mehboob Beg from the Anantnag constituency by a margin of 65417 votes.

Mufti secured 200429 votes while Baig secured 135012.

Another PDP leader Muzaffar Hussain Beigh defeated National Conference senior leader Shariefudin Shariq by 29,223 votes from Baramulla constituency.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.