All set for Baramulla vote

BARAMULLA: Stringent security measures have been put in place to ensure smooth polling for Kashmir's two parliament seats, Baramulla and Leh, Police sources said. 

Key focus will be on Baramulla where the main contest will be between NC's Sharifudin Shariq and PDP's Muzaffar Hussian Baigh. The constituency is spread over three districts of Bandipore, Baramulla and Kupwara, where the campaigning ended today.

Polling hours has been fixed from 0700 hrs to 1700 hr s, one hour less than polling hours across the country for security reasons.

Though there are 18 candidates in the fray, the main contest will be between Shariefuddin Shariq, seeking re-election from the seat on ruling National Conference (NC) ticket, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Muzaffar Hussain Baig and Peoples Conference (PC) Salamuddin Bajad.

Two independent candidates Tanveer Hussain Khwaja and Aga Abdul Hussain are also expected to garner a sizable chunk of Shia votes in the constituency.

More than 1600 polling stations have been set up for the exercise.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.