Congress to field Azad from Udhampur

SRINAGAR: Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) President Prof Saifudin Soz on Wednesday said that the list of candidates for Jammu-Udhampur and Ladakh, the three Lok Sabha seats has been finalized and the party is waiting for a final call to be taken by its president Sonia Gandhi.

However quoting G M Saroori, Congress senior leader and MLA Inderwal said that Ghulam Nabi Azad’s name has been finalized for Udhampur Lok Sabah seat after hectic deliberations on Tuesday evening. 

He said that Madan Lal Sharma’s candidature has been declared from Jammu Lok Sabha seat and he will submit his nomination papers tomorrow at 2:30 pm.

“Azad sahib’s and Mr Sharma’s names have been declared by the Congress high command. People here in Jammu province have already welcomed the party decision. Fire crackers were set off at Thatri, Kishtwar, Bhalesa, Chatru and other adjoining places besides that sweets were distributed in Udhampur, Kathua and Reasi by people irrespective of with which religion they belong to,” Saroori described the scene.  

He said that the party is still indecisive about Ladakh parliamentary seat and no official or unofficial announcement has been made in that regard. 

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.