Congress finalizes names of candidates


SRINAGAR: State Congress Saturday finalized the names of its candidates for the Jammu and Ladakh provinces for the forthcoming parliamentary polls while as former Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad has turned down the offer of contesting from Udhampur Lok Sabha constituency.

Union Health Minister turned down the party offer of contesting from Udhampur constituency- hence paving way for the Congress leader Lal Singh to emerge as the expected candidate for the seat despite the strong resentment among the Congress leaders and workers against Singh.

Sources informed further that name of Madan Lal Sharma has been finalized by the party leadership for Jammu constituency while as Ringzin Sapalbar will fight for the Ladakh parliamentary seat.

Senior Congress leader pleading anonymity said that party workers of Kashmir valley are unhappy at the seat allotments. Workers are unhappy that the state Congress despite its high popularity graph in Kashmir province has not been provided opportunity to contest for at least one parliamentary seat out of three and that it would have been beneficial for both Congress and NC. 

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.