RTI Activist AAP LS Candidate for Srinagar

SRINAGAR: The Aam Admi Party (AAP) has announced a list of its candidates for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections and Dr. Muzaffar Bhatt, a Right to Information activist, has been nominated for the Srinagar Parliamentary constituency.

Pertinently, Dr Bhat will have to contest against Dr Farooq Abdullah, National Conference patron and Tariq Hamid Karra, Peoples Democratic Party senior leader and former state finance minister.

The other nominations made by AAP included: Grandson of Mahatma Gandhi and C. Rajgopalachari, Rajmohan Gandhi. He will be AAP candidate from East Delhi.

 Shekhada Atulbhai Govindbhai - AAP candidate from Junagrah, GujaratShekhada Atulbhai Govindbhai is an engineer by training. He is an active Janlokpal campaigner and leader of Farmers' Land Acquisition Andolan in Junagarh.

Naveen Jaihind - AAP candidate from Rohtak, Haryana. An eminent social worker, Naveen led the movement for Right to Information Act in Haryana and campaigned for Swaraj in the state.

Balwinder Kaur - AAP candidate form Kurukshetra, Haryana. She is a member of Bhartiya Kisan Union. She was lodged in jail for eight days for her struggle for farmers rights.

Poonam Chand Ratti - AAP candidate form Sirsa, Haryana. Shri Ratti retired from fire brigade department in 2013. He's a well known social worker.

Yudhbir singh Khyalia - AAP candidate from Hisar, Haryana. A retired IAS officer, Sh Khyalia, has done his PhD on "Management of safe blood transfusion" and MA in public administration His name was listed in Limca Book of Records, 1998 edition for organizing “Rakt Daan Jaagran Mela".  

Jaisingh Thekedar – AAP candidate from Sonipat, Haryana. He is an advocate by profession and president of BAR association for last two years. He is an active social worker for last 8 years. He was secretary of Arya Pratinidhi Sabha.

Dr. Rajan Sushant - AAP candidate from Kangra, Himachal Prasad. He is ex MP from kangra. He  played an active role in Jaypee Pond Dam rehablitation, farmer and worker movements and has been jailed many times during public movements. He was youngest legislature in 1982.  He was elected as MP for four times from Himachal Pradesh.

Bhawna Bhavesh Vasnik. He is a professor of home economics in Amravati  and soon this young mother of two will  be an inspiration to women in this country, as she takes on  the challenge of contesting against established names in the Shiv Sena bastion. Bhavna has worked towards creating awareness about AIDS and conducted programmes for special children.

Sameena Abdulmajid Khan. Raising pertinent questions about the abysmal performance of public representatives is a young lady in black robes, Sameena Khan. A lawyer who represents labour unions and others in the labour and industrial courts of Sangli, Sameena is exposed to many of the crucial issues in the area and articulates them vociferously.

Maruti Sahebraw Bhapkar. A lone crusader who has long protested against the inability of the government to provide housing for slum dwellers, Maruti Bhapkar is one of the strongest voices against corruption in Maharashtra.

Wamanrao Sudaishirao. All are equal but some are more equal observes Wamanrao. A lawyer and relentless crusader against the inequalities of the system and lack of focus on alleviation of inequities, Wamanrao is in the forefront of grass roots movements in Maharashtra.

Lalit Babar. A strong and resilient figure espousing the socialist cause in Maharashtra is Lalit Babar. Born to agricultural workers in Sangola village of Sholapur, Lalit has a degree in political science and a diploma in journalism.

Subahsh Lomte. The unorganized sector in India continues to be the most vulnerable, devoid of any social security or benefit . Spearheading the movement for rethink and focus on the issues concerning this sector is Subhas Lomte.

Sanjeev Sane. Long associated with veteran socialist leader Bhai Vaidya and the Samajvadi Janparishad , Sanjeev Sane is a popular and respected mass leader of Maharashtra.

Nandu Madhav. An acclaimed theatre and film artiste, Nandu Madhav is known for his well defined views on governance and policy. Nandu recently donned the lead role in 'Harishachandrachi factory', India's official entry to the Osacrs in 2010.

Deelip Mhaske. A resident of Kandivali in Mumbai, Dilip lost his home, a 10 x 10 tenement in a slum demolition drive several years ago. Since then, this industrious young man has acquired degrees in law, social work and a doctorate from the USA.

Prashant Mishra. Long troubled by the state of the nation, Prashant is a software professional who has charted a career in software services  and management and is now set to apply his skill sets in public representation.

Aneeta Hindoliya. Anita is a dynamic lady in Ujjain. She has a sound family background. She also runs a pertol pump. She has been fighting for poors and women related issues.

Kailash Awasya. Local, well educated aadiwaasi community leader; did an MA, tought in a government school and left his job in a couple of years to get involved in anti displacement movement(Narmada Bachao Aandolan). Very highly regraded in his community.

Capt. Abdul Nasir Hanfee. He is a retd. Vir Chakra Prapt Wing Commander. He is originally from Mhow (Indore). He has good management capabilities

Paras Saklecha. Paras is a Ex-MLA (Independent). He has raised maximum questions in MP assembly. He has raised VYAPAM issue and malnutrition issue in MP. Has an extremely clean image.

Khuman Singh Armo. He is a retd. DSP belonging to Mandla, Who is willingly working as a farmer. He has been very sympathatic to the plight and concerned of his fellow farmers, tribal children and women. He has traveled extensively in rural Mandla district.

Bhagawat Singh Rajput. B S Rajput has been associated with Party/IAC since beginning. He has a good network with many veteran politicians of MP. He is politically mature and has been working in Vidisha constituency from very long time.

Dr. Dharamvira Gandhi. He is a famous cardiologist in punjab and much appreciated in rural areas. He has been a student activist and been jailed for opposing emergency.

Major Surendra Kumar Punia. The youngest recipient of the President’s award - Vishist Seva Medal in 2013 and a qualified doctor, he will contest from Sikar constituency in Rajasthan.

Ashok kumar Jain. Ashok Kumar Jain is AAP Convener in Rajasthan and is a founder member of the party. He is the first person to implement the Right to Recall in India (in a municipal body in Rajasthan)

Raj Kadyan. Retired as Lt General (deputy chief of Army staff) from Indian army. Worked for welfare of Ex servicemen. Formed an organization ISEM for ex servicemen. Fought a battle for one rank one pension for ex servicesmen. Stays in Gurgaon.  

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.