A member of my extended familys favourite food is blood pudding. You take the blood of a cow and then put it into a cake dish with salt, herbs and a little garlic and then put the dish into the fridge. When it congeals it becomes like a cake. You can then cut it and eat it in slices. This dish is much eaten in South European countries.
Are you feeling sick? But you eat meat. People in the Northeast eat dogs and look after goats. You eat goats. The Scottish eats the stomachs and intestines of sheep and cows. The Maharajas in India made pickles out of deer feet. The British boil pig feet and call it trotters. The Europeans eat snails and the cancerous liver of geese called pate. The Orientals eat snakes, Locusts and bear gall bladders and monkey brains. The Africans and Chinese eat everything.
Even when people eat meat they know what is wrong and what is right. The person who eats meat will still feel sick if he learnt that he was brushing his teeth everyday with animal bones in the form of toothpaste. Let me make a list of some items that are made of meat and that the manufacturers do not label as a vegetarian. Look at the labels. Many of these also have vegetable substitutes but since it is easier to use animals, the producers do. It is for you to either shun the product or write to the manufacturer asking whether it is vegetarian or not.
Insulin - From pig and cow pancreas. Used by millions of diabetics daily.
Activated carbon - Cow bones. Used in cane sugar processing and water purification.
Adrenaline - Adrenal glands of pigs, cattle, and sheep. Medicine.
Allantoin - Most mammals. In cosmetics, creams and lotions.
Carmine, Cochineal or Carminic Acid - Red coloring made from beetles. Candies, juices, colored pasta, cosmetics, dairy products, ice creams, fruit fillings anything coloured RED or PINK .
Clarifying agent - Animal (egg, gelatin, fish bladder which is known as Isinglass). White wine and some jellies. Used to filter out particles to make the liquid clear
Gelatin - Hooves, cartilage, bones of animal. Jellybeans, marshmallows, yogurts, jams, ice cream, cakes and frosted cereals, shampoos, cosmetics, coating on pills and capsules, photographic film. Used as a thickener.
Emulsifier - Lecithin, monoglyceride, diglycerides, calcium stearoyl, polysorbate and monostearate, Magnesium stearate . Can be Animal (cow, pig, eggs, milk), vegetable or synthetic. Processed foods, peanut butter, candies, dairy products, baked goods, soft drinks, chocolate and ice creams. margarine, breakfast cereals, vegetable oil sprays, lipsticks, hand creams, lotions, soaps, shampoos, medicines and eye creams. gelatin products, nondairy creamer, salad dressing, chewing gum, whipped topping It is used to keep different ingredients mixed together like water and oil.
Glycerin - Glycerol. Byproduct of soap manufacturing (usually animal fat). Cosmetics, foods, toothpastes, mouthwashes, ointments, chewing gum, medicines and soaps.
Enzyme Pepsin (pig or cows stomach), Lipases (from the tongue and stomach) and Trypsins come from animals. Rennet (which is a pepsin) is used for making cheese and comes from slaughtered calves. Lipases are used in cheese, ice cream, chocolate, cream and margarine.
Tallow (fatty acid, suet) - Fat from cattle, sheep.. Margarine, shortening, pastries, cake mixes, cooking oils, soaps, candles, cosmetics, rubber, waxed paper and crayons.
Lactylic stearate - Animal fat. Used to make baked goods more fluffy.
Lard -Fat from pig abdomens. In shaving creams, soaps, cosmetics, baked goods, French fries, processed foods, chewing gum.
Oleic acid /oleinic acid - Animal tallow, or vegetable fats. Cheese, candy, synthetic butter, beverages, baked goods, ice cream, soaps, lipsticks, cosmetics and nail polish.
Linoleic Acid - Cow, pig or synthetic. Used in lipsticks, food, cosmetics, detergents, soap, vitamins.
Guanine - Scales of fish. Shampoo, nail polish, and other cosmetics.
Stearic acid - Animal (cow, stomachs of pigs, and sometimes from stray dogs and cats ). Food flavoring chewing gum, soaps, deodorants, creams, cosmetics and hairspray.
Palmitic acid - Animal (cow, pig fats), vegetable oils, palm oil. Usually non-vegetarian. Baked goods, cheese and butter flavoring shampoos, shaving soaps, creams. Isopropyl Palmitate -mixture of stearic acid and palmitic acid.
Myristic acid - Usually animal (cow or sheep). Processed foods, baked goods, ice cream, candy, cocoa flavoring, butter, chocolate, gelatin desserts and butterscotch.
Vitamin A - Egg yolks, fish liver oil. Supplements, cosmetics. Skim milk, infant formula, margarine, vegetable cooking oil, cheeses, hair-dyes, cosmetics, creams, perfumes, fortified foods.( Wheat germ oil and synthetics can also be used. All yellow and orange vegetables have this vitamin)
Vitamin B12 - Usually animal source. Vitamin D-2 and many other vitamins can come from animal sources. Examples: choline, biotin, inositol, riboflavin. Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol, calciferol) comes from lanolin or fish liver oil. Vitamin D-3 is always from an animal.
Be Part of Quality Journalism
Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.