Afzal Issue Rocks LA, Forces Adjournment


Speaker keeps decision reserved

JAMMU: The Jammu and Kashmir assembly was adjourned for the day Friday after rip-roaring scenes following Speakers refusal to concede the demand of various parties to discuss Afzal Guru’s execution. 

Cutting across party lines, members of the House from the ruling National Conference as well as opposition PDP and CPM had moved adjournment motions seeking discussion on the situation in the aftermath of Guru’s execution and handing over of his mortal remains to his family. 

All the members of PDP and independent MLA, Eng. Rashid and Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) member, Mohammad Yousf Tarigami objected to the Speaker’s decision to keep his judgment on the Adjournment Motion reserved. 

Members came to well and shouted slogans demanding a discussion on the issue of Afzal Guru’s execution and returning of his mortal remains to Kashmir.

According to reports, as soon as the Assembly proceedings started on Friday, Eng. Rashid, M. Y Tarigami and all the members of PDP stood up and demanded a debate on the Adjournment Motion presented by PDP on Thursday. Members raised slogans and accused that ruling parties do not want a debate on this sensitive issue. 

But when the speaker tried to pacify them saying that a discussion would be held in due course, PDP members raised slogans like ‘Guru ki body ko wapas karoo, wapas karoo’ (Return Guru’s body). 

“If there is a serious issue, (then) you have to suspend the normal business and discuss (it). But I fail to understand the attitude of this government (since yesterday),” Mehbooba Mufti later told reporters here. 

Nasir Aslam Wani from NC accused PDP that it was playing politics on this issue. “When Afzal was alive, PDP never bothered about him and now to gain the sympathies of the people this party was trying to give an impression that it was deeply grieved over his execution” he said. 

Reacting to the remarks made by NC member, PDP’s Nizam-u-Din Bhat said that the issue was debatable and needs the attention of all members. “Let us debate over this issue and see which party is at fault over this issue,” Bhat quipped.

After hue and cry, Speaker Mubarak Gul adjourned the House for an hour and when the business resumed again the House witnessed noisy scenes again. 

Speaker Mubarak Gul then adjourned the House for whole day declaring that the decision about debate on the adjournment Motion submitted by PDP has not been rejected but kept reserved. 

PDP leaders along with Eng Rasheed and Tarigami entered into the well, shouting slogans seeking debate on the issue. 

Rasheed tried to break the chairs but was stopped by the Marshalls.

Interestingly when the PDP members started shouting slogans demanding the adjournment motion, members of the ruling National Conference (NC) too raised the slogans in support of debate. 

PDP legislators were led by the party president Mehbooba Mufti, who said: “We want an adjournment motion on this important issue.”

Despite Speaker Mubarak Gul’s attempt to bring order, the opposition continued to disrupt the proceedings. Over all the Assembly did not do any business on Friday.

Speaker Admits Adjournment Motions

Earlier newly appointed Speaker, Mubarak Gul Friday accepted the adjournment motions seeking discussion on the return of Muhammad Afzal Guru’s body and the resultant situation in the aftermath of the hanging.

“I have received three adjournment motions on the issue and have fixed them for discussion on Monday”, the speaker said.

“I had no intention of rejecting the motion and had reserved it. It is an important issue which has been raised by the media apart from that the Chief Minister has also written to the central government”, he added.

Three separate adjournment motions submitted to the speaker by members of Peoples Democratic Party, National Conference and CPI (M) MLA M Y Tarigami have been received by the assembly.

The National Conference motion has been signed by MLAs Nasir Aslam Wani, Javed Ahmad Dar, Aga Ruhullah, M Ashraf Ganie and Peer Afaq.

The resolution moved by the PDP has been signed by Mehbooba Mufti, Javed Mustafa Mir, Rafi Ahmad Mir, Khalik Bandh, Dr M Shafi, Mushtaq Ahmad Shah, Zahoor Ahmad Mir, Syed Bashir Ahmad, Nizamuddin Bhat, Ab Rehman Veeri, Syed Bashrat Bukhari, Abdul Haq Khan, Zulfikar Ahmad, Ab Gaffar Sofi and Peerzada Mansoor Hussain. 


Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.