55 Court Arrest in Final Phase of JKLF Jail Bharo Tehreek

SRINAGAR: At least 55 people courted arrest today during the final phase of Jail Bharo Tehreek, launched by the Jammu and Kashmir Liberation Front,  at Abi Guzar Srinagar.

Led by senior JKLF leader Noor Mohammad Kalwal, JKLF Leaders, activists, kith and kin of martyrs and jailed person marched towards Lal Chowk from Abi Guzar and courted arrest near Partap Park, said a JKLF spokesman in a statement issued here.

“ The arrested included leaders Noor Mohammad Kalwal, Sheikh Khalid Mubarak, Moulvi M Yaqoob Rabbani, Bashir Ahmad Rather (Boya) District president Ganderbal, Syed Nisar Ahmad Jeelani district president Bandipora, Showkat Ahmad Dar, Mushtaq Ahmad Gabroo,Abdul Rashid Ganai, Gulzar Ah Bhat( Gayasdin), Mushtaq A Wani, M Amin Mir, M Yousuf Bhat, Mehra Ud Din Najar, Nazir A. Mir,Reyaz A Dar, Fayaz A Mir,Ab. Ahad Bhat,M Amin Parray,Nisar Ah. Parray, Ayash Ah. Ganai. Shakil A Sofi, Bashir A Bhat,Mushtaq A Rather, M Lateef Wani, Ab. Rashid Bhat, Ab. Ahad Margay, Farooq A Parray, M Maqbool Bhat, Nazir Ahmad Khan, Gh. Mohi ud Din Wani, Manzoor A Sheikh, M Ayoub, M Ramzan Sofi, Shuaib M Lone, Mushtaq A Wani, Zahoor A Parray, Ab. Ahad wani, Irshad Ah. Dar, Ishfaq Ah. Dar, Hafiz Ab. Ahad Khan, M Amin Bhat, Hafizullah Ganai,Sameer Ahmad Mir etc”, he said.

 Besides these wife, sister and sister in law of jailed Nazir Ahmad Sheikh, mother, wife and daughter of jailed Showkat Ahmad Khan, father and mother of jailed Javed Ah. Khan, Shabir Ahmad Paul (brother of jailed M Ishaq Paul), M. Yousuf Gilkar of Mahaz I Azadi, M Farooq Nawaz and many others presented themselves for symbolic arrest at the occasion, he added.

Before the arrests JKLF leader Noor Mohammad Kalwal while addressing the gathering said that JKLF Jail Bharo Tehreek is a solidarity movement for “our brethren in jails”.

“ We are protesting against the life, death and other harsh sentences being awarded to our prisoners. Everybody must know that people of Kashmir are not afraid of these tactics of tyranny and persecution. We are fighting the war of our independence and shall continue to pursue this path till the achievement of the desired goal”, he said.

Later a procession was taken out with participants raising slogans in favor of Azadi, martyrs and prisoners. The procession ended at Partap Park where arrests were courted.

“It is worth mentiontioning here  that yasin sahib along with other leaders and workers which include  vice chairman advocate Bashir Ahmad Bhat, Front (H) Chairman Javed Ahmed Mir, Muslim Conference Chairman, Shabir Ahmad Dar, Front leader Shaukat Ahmad Bakshi, Javed Ahmed Zargar, Mohammad Yasin Bhat, Mushtaq Ajmal, Zahoor Ahmad Bhat, Mushtaq Ahmad Khan (pupah Sahib), Sheikh Mohammad Aslam (President District Srinagar), Mohammad Ishaq Ganai (President Islamabad District), Abdul Sattar (president of District kulgam), Ghulam Qadir Hyder, Mohammad Afzal Sheikh, Ghulam Mohammad Dar, Mohammad Hanif Dar, Ghulam Rasool Hazari, Mohammad Younis Butt, Zahoor ahmd khan, Ashfaq Hussain, Imtiaz Ahmad Dar, Mohammad Ibrahim bhat , Mohammad Abdullah natu, Basharat Ahmad Bhat, Ghulam Hussain Sufi, Fayaz Ahmad Lone, Habibullah Dar, Tariq Ahmad Bhat, Shabir Ahmad hajam, shahid Mackayee, imtyaz ahmad Ganai, Nazir ahmad rather, Faisal Aslam Mir, Javed Ahmad Malik, Nazir Ahmed Khan, Irshad Ahmed Dar, Bashir Ahmad wagay, Mohammad Ishaq Malik, Maqsood Ahmed nangru, Asadullah Shaikh, Ghulam Hassan Rather, Mohammad Yaseen Lone, Mohammad Iqbal Wani, Bashir Ahmad Rather, Riyaz Ahmad Dar, Abdul hamid Ganai and Gh. Ahmad ganai etc are in Srinagar central jail”, he said adding “While as S.M Afzal, Rafiq ahmad war (district president kupwara), Abdul Rashid Magloo (district president Baramulla), Front leaders Mohammad Sidiq Shah, Professor Javed, ishtiyaq Ahmed brother of Shaheed Zahoor Ahmad Ganai , Mohammad Azeem zargar, Abdul qayoom Sheikh, Mushtaq Ahmed changah, Ghulam Hassan Mir, Bashir Ahmad Mir, Mohammad maqbool Ganai, Bashir Ahmad Lone, Ghulam Mohammad malah, Farooq Ahmad Ganai, Ghulam Nabi Mir, Ghulam Mohammad wani, Mohammad maqbool Lone, Mushtaq Ahmad Mir, Abdul Majid Shah, Abdul Rahman Gojri, Abdul Aziz Lone are in mattan jail islam abad and Mir Siraj Ud Din, Javed Ahmad Bhat (President JKLF Pulwama),Gulzar Ahmad Pahalwan (JKLF President Budgam),Bashir Ahmad Kashmiri, Mohammad Ayoub Naikoo, Mohammad Ramzan Sofi,Hafiz Ghulam Hassan,Mushtaq Ahmad Dar,Khizar Mohammad Wani,Ghulam Hassan Mir,Ghulam Nabi Malik,Aaqib Ahmad Dar,Mushtaq Ahmad Bhat, Mohammad Rafiq Mir,Bashir Ahmad Mir, Mohammad Yasin Khan,Ali Mohammad Mir,Bilal Ahmad Dar,Abdul hamid Malik,Mohammad Maqbool Dar,Nazir Ahmad Hajam,Abdul Majid Tantray,Abdul Rehman Dar,Ghulam Mohammad Kondoo,Farooq Ahmad Beigh and Ishfaq Ahmad Kondoo are lodged in sub jail kupwara and sub jail Baramullah”, the statement added.

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.