Results Of 4 LC Seats Today

SRINAGAR – Stage is set for counting of votes for four Panchayat seats of the Legislative Council, polling for which was conducted on 3rd of this month with more than 90 per cent turn out. While the counting for two Kashmir division seats would take place at the S K International Convention Centre, that for two Jammu seats would be held at the Polytechnic College in the winter capital.

All the arrangements have been put in place for the smooth conduct of the counting, official sources said, adding the ballot boxes from most booths had reached the respective counting centers except for nine blocks each of Leh and Kargil districts where these could not be airlifted due to bad weather and the counting would take place at the local levels.

Apart from the contestants, including those from the ruling combine of Congress and National Conference, and the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, the administration officials, including the respective divisional commissioners and deputy commissioners would be present in the counting centers. The election observers, Shantmanu for Kashmir and Atul Duloo for Jammu, would supervise counting in the respective divisions.

Results of the elections are expected to be made immediately after completion of the counting tomorrow itself. For the two seats of Kashmir, sources said, the main contest was between the candidates of the coalition parties and the opposition PDP. In all, 37 candidates are in the fray in Kashmir while the number of contestants in Jammu is 21.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.