NC, Cong to Contest LC Seat Each in Jammu, Valley

Srinagar, Nov 12: The Coalition Coordination Committee (CC) of the ruling National Conference (NC) and Congress parties has decided that the two parties will jointly contest the polls to fill up vacancies in the Jammu and Kashmir legislative council under Panchayati Raj quota.
“Both the parties will contest on two seats each. The parties will fight one seat each in Jammu and Kashmir regions”, Congress Presdent Saif-ud-Din Soz, who is also the chairman of the panel told KNS on Monday, after heading the meeting of the CC.
There are four seats lying vacant in the legislative council from the panchayat quota, the polls for which are scheduled next month. About 35000 panchs and sarpanchs form the electoral college for election of the LC members, with each member having to caste two votes.
The meeting was held in Jammu Guest House on Monday morning, which was attended by all the six members of the panel, sources said. “The meeting was held in a cordial atmosphere and many other issues were also discussed in the meeting”, the sources said.
The CC has also decided to pay a monthly honorarium to the panchs and sarpanchs across the state. “Congress party proposed that the panchayat members should be paid an honorarium and the same was agreed to by the National Conference members”, Prof Soz told KNS.
According to sources, the issue of security and empowerment of panchyat members was also discussed during the meeting. “Holding of BDC elections and implementation of provisions of 73rd amendment of Indian constitutions were also discussed”, said the sources adding the issue of house panel for probing charges of land-grab against PHE Minister, Taj Mohiuddin also came up for a brief discussion.
Meanwhile, the state Congress has finalized a list of probable candidates for fielding in the upcoming election of two seats of Legislative Council - one each in Kashmir and Jammu.
“Congress has made a list of probable candidates and I’ll consult the high command in Delhi on 14th November”, said Soz.
Sources said, that the candidates in the Congress list include Senior leader Ghualam nabi Monga, Abdul Majeed Paddar, Mula Ram and Manghat Sharma, among which only two candidates would be given mandate to contest elections.
Sources said Mohammad Yosuf Tarigami, Hakeem Mohammad Yaseen and Ghulam Hassan Mir would field their own candidates.
However, sources close to Mir told KNS that the DPN President has decided to support the candidates of the coalition in council elections.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group: Join Now

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.