PCI Journalism Awards, Last Date Extended

Srinagar – The Press Council of India (PCI), which has been mandated by Parliament to improve the standards of journalism, today extended the deadline of sending entries for its newly instituted National wards to promote excellence in print media. As the Awards instituted by the Press Council of India carry national importance, it was felt that the time given for filing of nominations from all over the country was too short to give wide publicity to the event.

Nominations can now be sent till September 20, 2012. The earlier deadline was August 16, 2012. 

The Awards are to be given in six categories, with the “Raja Ram Mohan Roy National Award for excellence in Journalism”, carrying the highest cash prize of Rs one lakh.

The other categories are Rural Journalism, Developmental Reporting, Stree Shakti and Photo-Journalism, in which there are two sub-categories- Single News Picture and Photo Feature. These carry a cash component of Rs 50,000 each.

Besides the cash component, these awards consist of a plaque and citation. PCI, the national press watchdog, is entrusted with the responsibility of encouraging the media to observe the principle of “Freedom wih Responsibility” while perusing its duties.

Other details of eligibility criteria, entry form, declaration forms and rules are available on the website of the Council (http://presscouncil.nic.in: National Awards for excellence in Journalism.

Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Observer News Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.