Traffic police to launch drive against misuse of red beacon lights

Jammu - The Traffic Police Jammu is going to launch a massive drive to check unauthorized use and misuse of red beacon lights shall be launched from 1st October, 2012, throughout Jammu zone.

"Strict action will be initiated  against the defaulters misusing the red beacon lights under Motor Vehicle Act as law is supreme and should be honoured by every citizen in all its forms", said DIG Traffic Range Jammu, Mr Shakeel Ahmed Beig, during a traffic awareness camp organised today at Warehouse Jammu.

 The DIG said that J&K government has issued an order under which only the specified dignitaries and officers have been authorized to use beacon lights on the top of their vehicles and anybody violating the directions will be punished under law. One day grace period has been given to the violators for the removal of red beacon lights and drive will start with effect from 1st October 2012. He said that officers have been directed to take stern action against such violators during joint mobile checking.

The dignitaries and officers have been authorized to use red beacon lights on the top of their vehicles are

  1. Governor,
  2. Chief Minister,
  3. Deputy Chief Minister,
  4. Speaker Legislative Assembly,
  5. Chairman Legislative Council,
  6. Chief Justice of J&K High Court,
  7. Cabinet Ministers,
  8. Ministers of State,
  9. Leader of Opposition in the House,
  10. Judge of High Court,
  11. Dy Speaker Legislative Assembly,
  12. Dy Chairman Legislative Council,
  13. Mayor of Jammu/Srinagar within their respective Municipal limits,
  14. Chairman's of LAHDC, Kargil/ Leh,
  15. Member of Parliament,
  16. Member of State Legislature,
  17. Chief Secretary,
  18. Advocate General,
  19. Chairman Public Service Commission,
  20. Chairman Financial Commissioner,
  21. Director General of Police and Equivalent ranks in Police,
  22. Principal Secretaries,
  23. All additional DGPs,
  24. District Magistrate,
  25. District SPs,
  26. Pilot/Control Room/fire Brigade vehicles,
  27. Police Patrol/ambulances/Escort Vehicles (blue lasher light),
  28. Vehicles on Airport (Amber flasher),
  29. Principal/District and Session Judges within their respective jurisdictions,
  30. Vice Chairman J&K State Advisory Board for Development of Gujjar and Bakerwal,
  31. Vice chairman J&K State Advisory Board for Development of Pahari Speaking People,
  32. Vice Chairman J&K State Advisory Board for Development of Kissans,
  33. Vice Chairman J&K State Advisory Board for Development for Welfare and Development of other backward classes,
  34. Vice Chairman J&K State Advisory Board for Development of Schedule Castes,
  35. Chairman J& Accountability Commissioner,
  36. Chairman J&K State Information Commissioner,
  37. Chairman J&K State Commissioner for Backward Classes,
  38. Chairman J&K State Commission for Women,
  39. Chairman J&K State Human Right Commission,
  40. Chairman J&K State Finance Commission,
  41. Chairman J&K State Consumer Protection Commission,
  42. Chairman J&K State Electricity Regulatory Commissioner,
  43. Chairman J&K State vigilance Commission and
  44. Principal Accountant General J&K.


Be Part of Quality Journalism

Quality journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce and despite all the hardships we still do it. Our reporters and editors are working overtime in Kashmir and beyond to cover what you care about, break big stories, and expose injustices that can change lives. Today more people are reading Kashmir Observer than ever, but only a handful are paying while advertising revenues are falling fast.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.